Wed Sept 20
​Continental Club

Austin, TX

​Sat Sept 23
Red River Folk Festival (Solo)
Red River, NM

Tue Sept 26
Continental Club Gallery(Solo)
Austin, TX

Wed Sept 27
Continental Club
​Austin, TX

Thur Oct 12
Fox Tucson Theatre (Lampedusa: Concerts For Refugees) Solo
​Tucson, AZ

Fri Oct 13
KiMo Theatre (LAMPEDUSA: CONCERTS FOR REFUGEES) Solo
Albuquerque, NM

Sat Oct 14
Abraham Chavez Theatre (LAMPEDUSA: CONCERTS FOR REFUGEES) Solo
El Paso, TX

Sun Oct 15
Majestic Theatre (LAMPEDUSA: CONCERTS FOR REFUGEES) Solo
​Dallas, TX

​Tue Oct 24
World Cafe Live Downstairs
Philadelphia, PA

Wed Oct 25
Brighton Music Hall
Boston, MA

Thur Oct 26
Hill Country Live
New York, NY

Fri Oct 27
The Haunt
Ithaca, NY

Tue Nov 7
The Warehouse at Mt. Victor
​Bowling Green, KY

Wed Nov 8
The Bishop
Bloomington, IN

​Thur Nov 9
Magic Bag
​Ferndale, MI
Tickets  RSVP

Fri Nov 10
SPACE
Evanston, IL

Sat Nov 11
Fitzgerald's
Berwyn, IL

Sun Nov 12
High Noon Saloon
Madison, WI

Tue Nov 14
Turf Club
St. Paul, MN

Wed Nov 15
The Waiting Room
Omaha, NE

Thur Nov 16
Wooly's 
Des Moines, IA

Fri Nov 17
Deimer Hall
St. Louis, MO

Sat Nov 18
Knuckleheads
​Kansas City, MO

Sat Jan 20
Sam's Burger Joint
​San Antonio, TX
 







James McMurtry


News

Continental Club Residency:
When he is not on the road, you can catch James McMurtry in Austin for his regular solo/acoustic show at the Continental Club Gallery every Tuesday. And the James McMurtry Band can be found each Wednesday performing their renowned regular midnight set at The Continental Club in Austin, Texas.​​

Tour

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FROM JAMES McMURTRY: Some one has a permit to run a gas pipeline from the Permian basin fracking field through the Big Bend Country to the Rio Grande where it will hook up with a Mexican pipeline for transport to the interior, or perhaps the Pacific where tankers can float it to one of our prospective Pacific trade partners. They say they won't take ranch land by eminent domain except as a last resort. Translation, "We'll get your land one way or another, so you better sell." Eminent Domain is supposed to only be invoked for projects which serve the common good. Some of us don't think this project is intended to serve the common good.


Word has it there are now Eminent Domain suits filed against fifty ranchers in the Big Bend region for the purpose of acquiring pipeline right of way.



Check out these links for more info:​http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/openletter/
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/ 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/binational_agreement_petition 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/trans-pecos_pipeline 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/concerns 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/timeline 
http://www.texasmonthly.com/articles/a-pipeline-in-the-sand/ 

​​JAMES McMURTRY FEATURED IN NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE COVER STORY

“25 SONGS THAT TELL US WHERE MUSIC IS GOING” 

AUSTIN, Texas — The New York Times Magazine’s cover story “25 Songs That Tell Us Where Music Is Going” (Sunday, March 12) prominently features a four-page spread focusing on James McMurtry’s “Copper Canteen,” from his 2015 release Complicated Game. The author points directly to the song’s frequently quoted opening line as a representative passage in McMurtry's work: “Honey, don’t you be yelling at me while I’m cleaning my gun.” “Though that line about the gun got a big laugh when McMurtry played it in Dallas,” Ruth Graham writes, “I still don’t know whether to hear it as a joke or a threat, and McMurtry has never been one to offer the easy comfort of a straight answer.” CLICK HERE for more.

"The simple fact is that James McMurtry may be the truest, fiercest songwriter of his generation."

- Stephen King

The Power of the Front Man
​​Whatever the front man says or does gives license to those in the crowd. A certain band used to play at the Continental Club in Austin, where my band and I regularly play when we’re home. When they played, a woman danced naked, or very nearly naked, behind a screen on which a light threw her shadow to the full view of the audience. Some of the staff that worked those shows are still working at the club. They tell me that during those shows some of the men in the audience became unusually and uncomfortably aggressive toward the women in the audience. I thought that was terrible.
 CLICK HERE for more