IMPORTANT MESSAGE FROM JAMES McMURTRY: Some one has a permit to run a gas pipeline from the Permian basin fracking field through the Big Bend Country to the Rio Grande where it will hook up with a Mexican pipeline for transport to the interior, or perhaps the Pacific where tankers can float it to one of our prospective Pacific trade partners. They say they won't take ranch land by eminent domain except as a last resort. Translation, "We'll get your land one way or another, so you better sell." Eminent Domain is supposed to only be invoked for projects which serve the common good. Some of us don't think this project is intended to serve the common good.


Word has it there are now Eminent Domain suits filed against fifty ranchers in the Big Bend region for the purpose of acquiring pipeline right of way.



Check out these links for more info:​http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/openletter/
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/ 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/binational_agreement_petition 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/trans-pecos_pipeline 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/concerns 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/timeline 
http://www.texasmonthly.com/articles/a-pipeline-in-the-sand/ 

​​JAMES McMURTRY FEATURED IN NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE COVER STORY

“25 SONGS THAT TELL US WHERE MUSIC IS GOING” 

AUSTIN, Texas — The New York Times Magazine’s cover story “25 Songs That Tell Us Where Music Is Going” (Sunday, March 12) prominently features a four-page spread focusing on James McMurtry’s “Copper Canteen,” from his 2015 release Complicated Game. The author points directly to the song’s frequently quoted opening line as a representative passage in McMurtry's work: “Honey, don’t you be yelling at me while I’m cleaning my gun.” “Though that line about the gun got a big laugh when McMurtry played it in Dallas,” Ruth Graham writes, “I still don’t know whether to hear it as a joke or a threat, and McMurtry has never been one to offer the easy comfort of a straight answer.” CLICK HERE for more.

"The simple fact is that James McMurtry may be the truest, fiercest songwriter of his generation."

- Stephen King

The Power of the Front Man
​​Whatever the front man says or does gives license to those in the crowd. A certain band used to play at the Continental Club in Austin, where my band and I regularly play when we’re home. When they played, a woman danced naked, or very nearly naked, behind a screen on which a light threw her shadow to the full view of the audience. Some of the staff that worked those shows are still working at the club. They tell me that during those shows some of the men in the audience became unusually and uncomfortably aggressive toward the women in the audience. I thought that was terrible.
 CLICK HERE for more

James McMurtry


News

Tour

Continental Club Residency:
When he is not on the road, you can catch James McMurtry in Austin for his regular solo/acoustic show at the Continental Club Gallery every Tuesday. And the James McMurtry Band can be found each Wednesday performing their renowned regular midnight set at The Continental Club in Austin, Texas.​​

​​​​​Fri Jul 7
Bullock Texas State History MuSeum
​Austin, TX
RSVP

Tue Jul 11
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP


Wed Jul 12
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Tue Jul 18
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP


Wed Jul 19
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Fri Jul 21
Boulder Theatre (with Sarah Jarosz)
Boulder, CO
​Tickets  RSVP
​​
​Sat Jul 22
Mishawaka Amphitheatre (WITH SARAH JAROSZ)
Bellvue, CO
​Tickets 
RSVP

​Sun Jul 23
The Cowboy Saloon
Laramie, WY
Tickets   RSVP

Tue Jul 25
Nerolux
Boise, ID
Tickets   RSVP

Wed Jul 26
Knotty Pine
​Victor, ID
Tickets  RSVP

THur Jul 27
Live from the Divide
Bozeman, MT
Tickets  Rsvp
​​
​​Fri Jul 28
​Big Sky PBR Rodeo at Town Center Park
Big Sky, MT
Tickets  Rsvp


Sat Jul 29
Top Hat Lounge

Missoula, MT
Tickets  RSVP

Sun Jul 30
Red Ants Pants Festival
​White Sulpher Springs, MT
​RSVP

Tue Aug 1
Great Northern
Whitefish, MT
​RSVP

Wed Aug 2
The Bartlett
​Spokane, WA
Tickets  RSVP

Thur Aug 3
Domino Room
Bend, OR
​Tickets  RSVP

Fri Aug 4
Chico Women's Club
Chico, CA
Tickets  RSVP

Sat Aug 5
Cargo@ Whitney Peak Hotel
Reno, NV
Tickets

Sun Aug 6
Auburn Placer Performing Arts Center
Auburn, CA
Tickets  RSVP

Mon Aug 7
Lagunitas Brewing Company
Petaluma, CA
Tickets  RSVP

​Wed Aug 9
The State Room 
Salt Lake City, UT
Tickets  RSVP

Thur Aug 10
Mesa Theatre & Club
​Grand Junction, CO
TicketsRSVP


Fri Aug 11
Sherbino Theatre
Ridgway, CO
Tickets  RSVP


Sat Aug 12
Durango Arts Center
​Durango, CO
Tickets  RSVP

​Sun Aug 13
The Dirty Bourbon
Albuquerque, NM
Tickets  RSVP

Fri Aug 18
The Kessler Theatre
​Dallas, TX
Tickets  RSVP

Sat Aug 19
The Heights
​Houston, TX
Tickets  RSVP

Fri Aug 25
Threadgill's World Headquarters (Jenni Finlay Promotions' 11th Anniversary Party)

Sat Aug 26
​Sam's Burger Joint
San Antonio, TX
Tickets  RSVP

Fri Sept 15
​Manship Theatre (Solo)
Baton Rouge, LA

​Thur Nov 9
Magic Bag
​Ferndale, MI
Tickets  RSVP