​Mon Mar 27
​Tin Pan (Solo)
Richmond, VA
Tickets  Rsvp

Tue Mar 28
The Birchmere (Solo w/ Tift Merritt)
Alexandria, VA
Tickets  RSVP

Wed Mar 29
​Roy's Hall (Solo)
Blairstown, NJ
TicketsRsvp

Thur Mar 30
Infinity Hall (SOlo)
​NOrfOlk, CT
​TicketsRsvp

Fri Mar 31
World Cafe Live at Queen Upstairs (Solo)
Wilmington, DE
Tickets  RSVP

Sat Apr 1
Elk Creek Cafe (Solo)
​Millheim, PA
TicketsRsvp

Sun Apr 2
City Winery (Solo)
​New York, NY
Tickets  Rsvp

Tue Apr 4
Signal Kitchen (Solo)
Burlington, VT
Rsvp

Wed Apr 5
Iron Horse Music Hall (Solo)
Northampton, MA
​Tickets  Rsvp

Thur Apr 6
Narrows Center for the Arts (Solo)
Fall River, MA
Tickets  Rsvp

Sat Apr 8
Club helsinki (Solo)
Hudson, NY 
Tickets  RSVP

Sun Apr 9
Northridge Country Club 
​Texarkana, TX
​RSVP​

Tue Apr 11
Continental Club Gallery (Solo)
Austin, TX

Wed Apr 12

CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX

Tue Apr 18
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

Wed Apr 19
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX

Tue Apr 25
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

Wed Apr 26
​CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX


Fri Apr 28
Stickyz Rock'n Roll Chicken Shack
Little Rock, AR
TICKETS  RSVP

Sat Apr 29
Double Decker Arts Festival
Oxford, MS
RSVP

Tue May 2
Continental Club Gallery (Solo)
Austin, TX
Rsvp

Wed May 3
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX
Rsvp

Tue May 9
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Wed May 10
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Tue May 16
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
Rsvp

Wed May 17
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Tue May 23
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
Rsvp

Wed May 24
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX
Rsvp

Tue May 30
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX
Rsvp

Wed May 31
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX
RSVP

Fri Jun 2
Gruene Hall
New Braunfels, TX
Tickets  RSVP

THur Jul 27
Live from the Divide
Bozeman, MT
Tickets  Rsvp

​Fri Jul 28
​Big Sky PBR Rodeo at Town Center Park
Big Sky, MT
Tickets  Rsvp






 







James McMurtry


News

Continental Club Residency:
When he is not on the road, you can catch James McMurtry in Austin for his regular solo/acoustic show at the Continental Club Gallery every Tuesday. And the James McMurtry Band can be found each Wednesday performing their renowned regular midnight set at The Continental Club in Austin, Texas.​​

Tour

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FROM JAMES McMURTRY: Some one has a permit to run a gas pipeline from the Permian basin fracking field through the Big Bend Country to the Rio Grande where it will hook up with a Mexican pipeline for transport to the interior, or perhaps the Pacific where tankers can float it to one of our prospective Pacific trade partners. They say they won't take ranch land by eminent domain except as a last resort. Translation, "We'll get your land one way or another, so you better sell." Eminent Domain is supposed to only be invoked for projects which serve the common good. Some of us don't think this project is intended to serve the common good.


Word has it there are now Eminent Domain suits filed against fifty ranchers in the Big Bend region for the purpose of acquiring pipeline right of way.



Check out these links for more info:​http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/openletter/
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/ 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/binational_agreement_petition 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/trans-pecos_pipeline 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/concerns 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/timeline 
http://www.texasmonthly.com/articles/a-pipeline-in-the-sand/ 

​​JAMES McMURTRY FEATURED IN NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE COVER STORY

“25 SONGS THAT TELL US WHERE MUSIC IS GOING” 

AUSTIN, Texas — The New York Times Magazine’s cover story “25 Songs That Tell Us Where Music Is Going” (Sunday, March 12) prominently features a four-page spread focusing on James McMurtry’s “Copper Canteen,” from his 2015 release Complicated Game. The author points directly to the song’s frequently quoted opening line as a representative passage in McMurtry's work: “Honey, don’t you be yelling at me while I’m cleaning my gun.” “Though that line about the gun got a big laugh when McMurtry played it in Dallas,” Ruth Graham writes, “I still don’t know whether to hear it as a joke or a threat, and McMurtry has never been one to offer the easy comfort of a straight answer.” CLICK HERE for more.

"The simple fact is that James McMurtry may be the truest, fiercest songwriter of his generation."

- Stephen King

The Power of the Front Man
​​Whatever the front man says or does gives license to those in the crowd. A certain band used to play at the Continental Club in Austin, where my band and I regularly play when we’re home. When they played, a woman danced naked, or very nearly naked, behind a screen on which a light threw her shadow to the full view of the audience. Some of the staff that worked those shows are still working at the club. They tell me that during those shows some of the men in the audience became unusually and uncomfortably aggressive toward the women in the audience. I thought that was terrible.
 CLICK HERE for more