James McMurtry


Tour

"The simple fact is that James McMurtry may be the truest, fiercest songwriter of his generation."

- Stephen King

The Power of the Front Man
​​Whatever the front man says or does gives license to those in the crowd. A certain band used to play at the Continental Club in Austin, where my band and I regularly play when we’re home. When they played, a woman danced naked, or very nearly naked, behind a screen on which a light threw her shadow to the full view of the audience. Some of the staff that worked those shows are still working at the club. They tell me that during those shows some of the men in the audience became unusually and uncomfortably aggressive toward the women in the audience. I thought that was terrible.
 CLICK HERE for more

Tue Dec 19
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

Wed Dec 20
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX


Sat Dec 23
McGonigel's Mucky Duck (Solo)
​Houston, TX
​tickets

Tue Dec 26
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

Wed Dec 27
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX

Thur Jan 4
The Criterion (w/ Jason Isbell)
Oklahoma City, OK

Tue Jan 2
Continental CLub Gallery (solo)
Austin, TX

Wed Jan 3
CONTINENTAL CLUB 
AUSTIN, TX

Fri Jan 5
The Bomb Factory (W Jason Isbell)
Dallas, TX

Sat Jan 6
Baton Rouge River Center (W JASON ISBELL)
Baton Rouge, LA

Sun Jan 7
Saenger Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Mobile, AL

​Tue Jan 10
CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

Wed Jan 11
CONTINENTAL CLUB
AUSTIN, TX

Tue Jan 16
​CONTINENTAL CLUB GALLERY (SOLO)
AUSTIN, TX

​Thur Jan 18
Alabama THeatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Birmingham, AL

Fri Jan 19
Alabama Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Birmingham, AL

Sat Jan 20
Alabama Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Birmingham, AL

Sun Jan 21
Robinson Performance Hall (W JASON ISBELL)
Little Rock, AR

Tue Jan 23
Paramount TheatrE (W JASON ISBELL)
Cedar Rapids, IA

Wed Jan 24
The Riverside Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Milwaukee, wI

Sat Jan 27
Murat Theatre At Old national centre (W JASON ISBELL)
Indianapolis, IN

Mon Jan 29
Heinz Hall (W JASON ISBELL)
Pittsburgh, PA

Tue Jan 30
UB Center for the arts (W JASON ISBELL)
Buffalo, NY

Wed Jan 31
The palace theatre albany (W JASON ISBELL)
Albany, NY

Fri Feb 2
Veterans memorial auditorium (W JASON ISBELL)

providence, ri


Sat Feb 3
Kings Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Brooklyn, NY

Mon Feb 5
Count Basie Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Red Bank, NJ

Tue Feb 6
The Modell Lyric (W JASON ISBELL)
Baltimore, MD

Thur Feb 8
Fox Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Atlanta, GA

Fri Feb 9
Fox Theatre (W JASON ISBELL)
Atlanta, GA

Sat Feb 10
DPAC (W JASON ISBELL)
Durham, NC

Sun Feb 11
DPAC (W JASON ISBELL)
Durham, NC

Tue Feb 13
State Theatre of Ithaca (W JASON ISBELL)
Ithaca, NY

Wed Feb 14
The Santander Performing Arts Center (W JASON ISBELL)
Reading, PA


Fri Feb 16
Altria Theatre Richmond (W JASON ISBELL)
Richmond, VA

Sat Feb 17
Charleston Municipal Auditorium (W JASON ISBELL)
harleston, WV


​Sat Mar 3
Sam's Burger Joint
​San Antonio, TX







AUSTIN, Texas — Singer-songwriter enthusiasts rejoice: James McMurtry will open for Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit on an extensive tour together in early 2018. The highly lauded tunesmiths will launch the run at the Criterion in Oklahoma City on January 4 and serpentine for weeks throughout the South, Midwest and East Coast before concluding at the Charleston Municipal Auditorium in Charleston, West Virginia on February 17. Major markets on this exciting tour include the Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Heinz Hall in Pittsburgh and Kings Theatre in Brooklyn.  CLICK HERE for more

News

Continental Club Residency:
When he is not on the road, you can catch James McMurtry in Austin for his regular solo/acoustic show at the Continental Club Gallery every Tuesday. And the James McMurtry Band can be found each Wednesday performing their renowned regular midnight set at The Continental Club in Austin, Texas.​​

​​JAMES McMURTRY FEATURED IN NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE COVER STORY

“25 SONGS THAT TELL US WHERE MUSIC IS GOING” 

AUSTIN, Texas — The New York Times Magazine’s cover story “25 Songs That Tell Us Where Music Is Going” (Sunday, March 12) prominently features a four-page spread focusing on James McMurtry’s “Copper Canteen,” from his 2015 release Complicated Game. The author points directly to the song’s frequently quoted opening line as a representative passage in McMurtry's work: “Honey, don’t you be yelling at me while I’m cleaning my gun.” “Though that line about the gun got a big laugh when McMurtry played it in Dallas,” Ruth Graham writes, “I still don’t know whether to hear it as a joke or a threat, and McMurtry has never been one to offer the easy comfort of a straight answer.” CLICK HERE for more.

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FROM JAMES McMURTRY: Some one has a permit to run a gas pipeline from the Permian basin fracking field through the Big Bend Country to the Rio Grande where it will hook up with a Mexican pipeline for transport to the interior, or perhaps the Pacific where tankers can float it to one of our prospective Pacific trade partners. They say they won't take ranch land by eminent domain except as a last resort. Translation, "We'll get your land one way or another, so you better sell." Eminent Domain is supposed to only be invoked for projects which serve the common good. Some of us don't think this project is intended to serve the common good.


Word has it there are now Eminent Domain suits filed against fifty ranchers in the Big Bend region for the purpose of acquiring pipeline right of way.



Check out these links for more info:​http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/openletter/
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/ 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/binational_agreement_petition 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/trans-pecos_pipeline 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/concerns 
http://www.bigbendconservationalliance.org/timeline 
http://www.texasmonthly.com/articles/a-pipeline-in-the-sand/